top of page
Writer's pictureThomas Daley

Staying Accountable

Updated: Aug 31, 2023

Kinda funny that the week I dropped my accounting class I decided to become more accountable. Being accountable is fulfilling your obligations, tasks, and goals without excuses. I've got so much free time on my hands at the moment that could be used to literally do anything productive but somehow days sweep past faster than the battery charge lasts on this dumb-ass iPhone 6 I’m having to use at the moment since I broke my XR. You’d think an iPhone XR with a brand new screen and screen protector would stand a 30cm drop off a seat on the train from Sydney but no, I guess that's my phone's kryptonite. Anyway, I’ve spent some time pondering and I’ve realized I need to start creating content rather than consuming it, and that is why I'm writing this blog post on my new website. I’m not sure how often I’ll post blogs but I'm also going to post about books I've read and write small articles on certain topics on the other pages on this site. After I post this I'm gonna try and pirate a video editing software online as I want to improve my editing abilities cause I feel like that could come in useful one day. I used to like editing videos back when I went through my little sad edit phase in like year 8 or something. The ones where they'd get like sad Bart Simpson or Rick and Morty clips, play some sad lofi or juice wrld songs over with a slick transition and a nice grainy video tape filter and boom, youve got every 13 year old boy in their feels like a mother fukr. Thankfully I'm cool asf and decided to use the song 'Play Date' by Melanie Martinez to make this incredible edit in 2019 which I'm gonna try and show y'all below. (EDIT: I couldn't find it so heres another one I made)



To stay accountable I've drawn out a table which has 7 boxes for each week, for the next 18 weeks until the end of 2023. To fill in a box Ive got to do at least an hour of either, website desing/coding, video editing, or reading. 7 hours out of the 168 hours per week doesn't sound like much, but I suppose its probably smarter to start small and stay consistent, and then build up over time, rather than make a massive weekly target and then lose consistency because its such a jump from doing nothing. Ive found for me personally and especially for gym consistency that drawing stars on a calender to show each day Ive gone to the gym keeps me more consistent than anything ive tried before, S0 I've figured that Im going to do the same thing with the three activities I shared above and I guess we'll see how we go. I also think, even though I don't have any kind of following on this site yet, posting about it will sort of force me to do it, kind of like I've made a promise. I can't wait to share future progress and any big milestones or things that I've created.


Stay updated af by subscribing to the site so that each blog post that comes out is emailed straight to your inboxes and you'll never miss a post from the littest site you've ever been so fortunate to stumble across.

15 views

Comments


bottom of page